Charles, Duke take oaths as Chief Secretary, Minority Leader

Thursday, January 26, 2017 - 08:00

Leader of the Progressive Democratic Party has become the first Minority Leader in the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) in four years, as the new members of the THA took their oaths of office this morning.

Duke won the Roxborough/Delaford seat in Monday's THA election.

There has been no Minority Leader in the THA since 2013, when the People's National Movement (PNM) defeated Ashworth Jack's Tobago Organisation of the People by a margin of 12-0.

Leader of the PNM Tobago Council, Kelvin Charles was sworn in as the new Chief Secretary and Joel Jack is the new deputy Chief Secretary.

Former THA Secretary of Community Development and Culture, Dr Denise Tsoi-a-Fatt Angus was sworn in as the new presiding officer.

The new deputy presiding officer is Ancil Dennis.

The ruling PNM has appointed three councillors: Kwesi Des Vignes, Nadine Stewart-Phillips and Dr Agatha Carrington.

Dr Faith Yisrael, who narrowly lost the Belle Garden/Goodwood seat, has been appointed a councillor for the Minority.

President Anthony Carmona delivered the feature address calling on all representatives to put aside partisan politics and work in the interest of Tobago.

Among the attendees were Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi, Chief Justice Ivor Archie, House Speaker Bridget Annisette-George, Senate President Christine Kangaloo and some government ministers and senators.

The PNM won the THA election on Monday by a margin of 10-2.

The new THA Secretaries will be sworn in on Friday.

Photo courtesy Watson Duke|Facebook.