Committee set-up to absorb SRPs into Police Service

Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 11:00

Police Commissioner Gary Griffith has established a committee to treat with the terms and conditions of the Special Reserve Police (SRP) officers of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.

This followed a meeting between Griffith and members of the executive of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service Social and Welfare Association (TTPSSWA) at the Office of the Commissioner of Police Thursday morning.

The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the absorption of SRP officers into the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service as regular officers.

Commissioner Griffith also spoke on measures to improve the working conditions of SRP officers, as well as implementing a system to reward SRP officers for their contributions and thus encourage greater performance.

Additional discussions centred on increasing the number of duties allotted to SRPs and improving relations between regular and SRP officers.

The new committee will include ACP (Ag.) Anthony Bucchan, of the Professional Standards Bureau, SRP Adjutant ASP (Ag.) Aaron Beddoe, President of the TTPSSWA ASP (Ag.) Michael Seales and Director of the Office of Law Enforcement Policy Curtis Belford.