No Bravos, Narine, Pollard for Windies WC qualifiers

Three of West Indies cricket's biggest stars will not be making the trip to Zimbabwe to help the regional side try to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. This was confirmed today as Cricket West Indies (CWI) named its 15-man squad.

The squad is as follows:

Jason Holder (captain)
Jason Mohammed (vice-captain)
 Devendra Bishoo
Carlos Brathwaite
Chris Gayle
Shimron Hetmyer
Evin Lewis
Nikita Miller
Ashley Nurse
Rovman Powell
Marlon Samuels
Kesrick Williams

The ICC World Cup qualifiers will be played from March 4 to 25. The West Indies is drawn in Group A alongside Ireland, The Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, and the ICC World Cricket League Division 2 winners.

The CWI media release said while Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels indicated their full support to the cause of qualifying, "Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Darren Bravo and Andre Russell however indicated that they were unavailable to help us qualify as their priority was playing in the Pakistan Super League."

It went on to say, "Dwayne Bravo was not contacted as he had indicated previously that he is no longer available to play cricket for the West Indies."

Carlos Brathwaite marks a return to the team with Kemar Roach also getting selected. Commenting on squad, CWI Chairman of Selectors, Courtney Browne told CWI Media, "We are pleased to announce a squad that has a combination of experience and youth.  Given the importance of the West Indies qualifying for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, we thought it was important that we chose players who brought not only skills but experience to the table, combined with younger players who had performed creditably on the international scene."

Favourite count: 
Favourite count ids: