PNM asks EBC to rename three constituencies

The People's National Movement (PNM) has asked the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) to consider a name change for three electoral seats.

The EBC was asked to consider renaming D’Abadie/O’Meara to Malabar/O’Meara, Mayaro to Rio Claro/Mayaro, and Siparia to Penal/Siparia.

“We’ve presented them with our analysis and asked them to consider a name change and they’ll come back to us on that,” PNM chairman Colm Imbert said.

Speaking to Guardian Media following a meeting with the EBC on Wednesday, Imbert said this was “because the current names do not reflect the geography of the area”.

The Elec­tion and Bound­aries Com­mis­sion recently rec­om­mend­ed changes of bound­aries in sev­en Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment cor­po­ra­tion ar­eas, the cre­ation of ad­di­tion­al new elec­toral dis­tricts in two ar­eas and name changes in three oth­ers.

The changes were con­tained in the EBC’s Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment and To­ba­go House of As­sem­bly draft or­der, in­tend­ed for the pur­pose of hold­ing Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment polls.

These are con­sti­tu­tion­al­ly due this year since cor­po­ra­tions’ three- year term ends in Ju­ly.

Bound­ary changes were rec­om­mend­ed in:

• Bound­aries of three elec­toral dis­tricts in San Fer­nan­do Mu­nic­i­pal Cor­po­ra­tion.

• Bound­aries of two elec­toral dis­tricts in Ch­agua­nas Mu­nic­i­pal Cor­po­ra­tion.

•Bound­aries of three elec­toral dis­tricts in Cou­va/Tabaquite/Tal­paro cor­po­ra­tion.

• Bound­aries of eight elec­toral dis­tricts in Pe­nal /Debe re­gion­al cor­po­ra­tion.

•Bound­aries of three elec­toral dis­tricts of San­gre Grande cor­po­ra­tion.

• Bound­aries of nine elec­toral dis­tricts in San Juan -Laven­tille cor­po­ra­tion

• Bound­aries of two elec­toral dis­tricts of Siparia re­gion­al cor­po­ra­tion.

The PNM holds the cor­po­ra­tions of San Fer­nan­do, San Juan Laven­tille and con­trols San­gre Grande af­ter UNC and PNM tied there in 2016 Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment polls.

The UNC holds the Ch­agua­nas, Cou­va/Tabaquite/Tal­paro, Pe­nal/Debe and Siparia cor­po­ra­tions.

PNM leader Dr Keith Rowley on Saturday called for nominations for St Augustine, Point-a-Pierre, Toco/Manzanilla, Barataria/ San Juan, and Chaguanas East general election seats which are marginals.

Constituency nominations would begin immediately and end in July 12.

 - by Rishard Khan. Photo by Anisto Alves.

Favourite count: 
Favourite count ids: