PNM crushes UNC in both Local Government bye-election seats

Sunday, December 6, 2015 - 20:00

The People's National Movement has crushed the United National Congress in the bye-elections for two Local Government seats made vacant when former representatives became Members of Parliament.

The PNM tonight won the Auzonville/Tunapuna seat by a margin of 2459 to the UNC's 325.

The PNM also won the Malabar South seat by a margin of 1263 to the UNC's 29.

The results show that 97.45 percent of the votes cast in Malabar South and 88.04 percent of the votes cast in Auzonville/Tunapuna, went to the PNM.

It means the PNM retains its lead in the Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation.


Malabar South:
PNM: Merlyn Calliste 1263
UNC: Dara Singh 29

PNM: Travis Williams 2459
UNC: Lauren Kanhai 325

Photo: PNM Campaign Manager Elvin Edwards (left), Arima Mayor George Hadeed and Councillor-elect Merlyn Calliste.