Roget gets another term as OWTU President General

President General of the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) Ancel Roget will continue for another three years as the union says that a new executive committee has been nominated unopposed for the 2019 – 2022 term.

Those returning to their posts for the new term are;

- Ancel Roget as President General

- Sati Gajadhar-Inniss as 2nd Vice-President

- Marcus Cordner as Vice-President

- Peter Burke as Vice-President

- Richard Lee as General-Secretary

- Chandrasain Ramsingh as Treasurer

- Ozzi Warwick as Trustee.

Ricky Benny who held the post as vice-president on the last executive will now serve as 1st Vice-President.

Joining the executive committee for the first time are Reesa Ramlogan as vice-president, Anthony Baptiste as assistant general-secretary, Ernesto Kesar as a trustee and Raymond Huggins as a trustee.

Ramlogan is the first female general officer to be elected from T&TEC and has been commended by the union for breaking new ground.

A statement by the union said that Monday’s exercise was governed by Union Rules 12, 13 and 14 and the Regulations for the Election of National Executive Officers of the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union, in particular Regulations d, e and f, and Regulations Re Nominations in particular (a) and (t).

Nomination Day was supervised by John Boiselle. 

Favourite count: