Shannon Gabriel banned for 4 ODIs

Date: 
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 - 12:00
West Indies pacer Shannon Gabriel has been banned for the first four one-day internationals (ODI) against the English.
 
He accepted an International Cricket Council (ICC) charge over comments he made to England captain Joe Root during Day 3 of the third Test in St Lucia.
 
The charge takes Gabriel's total demerit points to eight over a two-year period, resulting in a four-match ODI ban.
 
In reply, Joe Root told Gabriel: "Don't use it as an insult. There's nothing wrong with being gay." Gabriel’s comment was not picked up by the stump mic and Root refused to explain after play on day three exactly what was said.
 
The England captain said after the game he "just did what I thought was right".
 
Gabriel was charged under article 2.13, which relates to the personal abuse of a player, player support personnel, umpire or match referee during an international match.
 
By accepting the charge, he was fined 75% of his match fee and picked up three demerit points.
Category: