Watson is Duke of Roxborough but PNM claims 10-2 THA victory

Monday, January 23, 2017 - 18:30

Leader of the Public Service Association (PSA) Watson Duke has led his Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) into the Tobago House of Assembly (THA), taking two seats away from the People's National Movement (PNM) in Monday's polls.

The PNM won the election convincingly, but the PDP's two seats now mean the THA will have an opposing party for the first time in four years.

The PNM had won the 2013 election by a margin of 12-nil over the Tobago Organisation of the People.

Duke won Roxborough/Delaford with 1,261 votes over the PNM's Gary Melville with 949 votes.

He takes with him into the THA, the PDP's highly popular candidate for Parlatuvier/L'Anse Fourmi/Speyside Farley Augustine (954 votes), who defeated the PNM's Marissa Williams (753 votes).

The PDP had another strong showing in Belle Garden/Goodwood where preliminary results showed its candidate Dr. Faith B. Yisrael losing to the PNM's Hayden Spencer by just 5 votes.

The PNM had declared the seat midway through the counting of votes but later changed its position saying the seat was "too close to call".

The PNM did not claim the seat until the platform speeches, when consecutive speakers, including outgoing THA Chief Secretary Orville London and Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, declared the final result as 10-2.

The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) is yet to release official figures but the PDP has indicated it will ask for a recount of the Belle Garden/Goodwood seat.

But apart from the two undisputed seats won by the PDP, it was all red for the rest of Tobago. 

Neither the Tobago Forwards led by Christlyn Moore nor the Movement for Transformation led by Eudine Job-Davis managed to secure a seat.

It will mean the PNM will rule the island for another four years at the end of which, the PNM would have ruled Tobago for 20 consecutive years.

The PNM's political leader in Tobago, Kelvin Charles will take the oath of office as Chief Secretary of the THA later this week, replacing Orville London who has retired.


PNM: 10

Canaan/Bon Accord - Clarence Job
Buccoo/Mt Pleasant - Ancil Dennis
Scarborough/Calder Hall - Marslyn Melville-Jack
Black Rock/Whim/Spring Garden - Kelvin Charles
Bethel/Mt Irvine - Shomari Hector
Lambeau/Signal Hill - Jomo Pitt
Plymouth/Golden Lane - Marisha Osmond
Providence/Mason Hall/Moriah - Sheldon Cunningham
Bacolet/Mt St George - Joel Jack
Belle Garden/Goodwood - Hayden Spencer (preliminary figures show PNM won by 5 votes but still not officially declared. PNM claimed the seat as part of a 10-2 victory during platform speeches. PDP to call for recount.)

PDP: 2

Parlatuvier/L'Anse Fourmi/Speyside - Farley Augustine
Roxborough/Delaford - Watson Duke