Ole mas disappearing in Sando

While the young and young at heart rev­elled in the paint, pow­der and wa­ter dur­ing J’Ou­vert fes­tiv­i­ties in San Fer­nan­do, there wasn’t much for the old­er spec­ta­tors who came out hop­ing to see tra­di­tion­al mas.

There was on­ly de­fend­ing cham­pi­ons Blue Boy who of­fered some po­lit­i­cal and so­cial satir­i­cal por­tray­als for the judges and spec­ta­tors at Har­ris Prom­e­nade on Car­ni­val Mon­day, prompt­ing con­cerns that the art­form may be dy­ing.

Pierre family claims J’Ouvert crowns again

Ronel Pierre was crowned the 2019 King of J’Ou­vert, while his cousin — the sea­soned Lynelle Pierre copped the 2019 Queen of J'Ou­vert ti­tle af­ter los­ing to her moth­er last year.

They were coached by their grand­fa­ther Her­bert “Nat­ty” Pierre, who helped as­sem­ble their props and cos­tumes for the tra­di­tion­al old mas com­pe­ti­tion which took place at South Quay, Port-of-Spain.

The two cred­it­ed their suc­cess to the pa­tri­arch who is the brain­child be­hind their pre­sen­ta­tions.

Megan Crowned Central Carnival Queen

Megan Mer­rick has been crowned Miss Cen­tral Car­ni­val Queen.

She won the ti­tle on Sat­ur­day night when the pageant came off at the Cou­va Pub­lic Car Park.

Mer­rick took home a $6,000 cash prize, tro­phies, and a ham­per.

Megan, who is a stu­dent of the Holy Faith Con­vent, com­pet­ed against six oth­er fi­nal­ists.

She al­so took the ti­tles of Miss El­e­gance, Miss In­tel­li­gence, and the Best Gown.

Plac­ing sec­ond was Daniel­la Williams who al­so copped the award for Best Cos­tume. In the third spot was Aiesha Blaze.

Sambury new bois champion

Roger Sam­bury copped the 2019 Na­tion­al Stick-fight­ing ti­tle at the Ari­ma Velo­drome on Wednes­day night.

St Mary’s res­i­dent Sam­bury de­feat­ed An­der­son Mar­cano, from Princes Town, to the de­light of a packed au­di­ence who gath­ered at the Velo­drome to wit­ness one of the Car­ni­val sta­ples.

In the fi­nal, Mar­cano and Sam­bury ini­tial­ly en­tered the gayelle and danced in cir­cles feel­ing out each oth­er, al­most like a box­ing match but with one-inch thick poui branch­es that were as much as four feet long as their weapon of choice.