Minority Leader

Duke claps back at Penal/Debe Chamber

Watson Duke, Minority Leader of the Tobago House of Assembly, is taking President of the Penal/Debe Chamber of Commerce Rampersad Sieuraj to task over statements on the use of Tobago's budgetary allocation.

On Monday, at a press conference in Couva, Sieuraj reportedly suggested that the corporation and THA exchange their annual budgetary allocations for two years so the corporation's flooding issue can be fixed.

Tobago gets just over $2 billion in allocations annually, while the corporation gets less than $100 million.

Charles, Duke take oaths as Chief Secretary, Minority Leader

Leader of the Progressive Democratic Party has become the first Minority Leader in the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) in four years, as the new members of the THA took their oaths of office this morning.

Duke won the Roxborough/Delaford seat in Monday's THA election.

There has been no Minority Leader in the THA since 2013, when the People's National Movement (PNM) defeated Ashworth Jack's Tobago Organisation of the People by a margin of 12-0.