Union: UNC attempting to play role of victim in Rienzi eviction

The All Trinidad General Workers’ Trade Union is accusing the UNC of misleading the media and attempting to play the role of victim as the party prepares to leave Rienzi Complex due to its failure to agree to the terms of the landlord.

The Union issued the following statement today on the matter.

"The President General of the All Trinidad General Workers’ Trade Union again wishes to reiterate to the national community and persons interested in the UNC/Rienzi rental issue the following:

Union explains why UNC must vacate Rienzi Complex

The All Trinidad General Workers Trade Union is seeking to set the record straight with regard to its reason for calling on the United National Congress to leave Rienzi Complex by the end of the month.

President General of the union, Nirvan Maharaj say the union tried several times to enter a lease agreement with the UNC but says the party never responded favourably to its efforts.

The following is the union's statement:

UNC against child marriages

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has joined the chorus of voices against child marriages.

The Opposition Leader made the following statement at a media briefing today:

"Good afternoon members of the media and thank you for coming to this briefing, which is on an issue of critical national importance for today and for the years to come.

The issue is that of Child Marriage, and the current position where it is permitted by law for children to be married at from the age of 12 years old.

UNC gets ready for Local Government elections

The Opposition United National Congress is getting ready for this year's Local Government elections in December.

The party says over 400 people have come forward to offer themselves as candidates.

The following is a statement from the UNC:

"More than four hundred people have filed nominations to represent the United National Congress (UNC) in the Local Government Elections scheduled to be held this year. Nominations closed at 4:00 pm Sunday May 15, 2016.